Good Bye Forkland, I Am Moving On!

The flood was the beginning of the end of my years in the store. The experience caused me to be so frightened every time the water started to rise in the creeks that I decided to sell the market and move on with my life. I moved to a little town called Junction City and went to work in Harrodsburg as a waitress for about three weeks, then as a deli manager for a Big Value Store in Danville, and finally bought a building in Mitchellsburg, Kentucky and opened a small restaurant. Eventually, I moved back to my hometown of Frankfort and went back to work for the State of Kentucky where I had worked for 11 years previously. I retired from state government in May 2005.

I wrote this blog for my children and grandchild. It covers the seven and a half years of my life I spent living in the Forkland area of Gravel Switch, Kentucky. During this time, I owned and operated a small country store known as Judy’s Market. There was good times and bad times during these years but mostly good times. My twins, Anne and Leigh, look back fondly at their childhood days growing up on the Fork. It was an experience we will never forget nor will we ever forget all the wonderful people and friends we made. We learned so much about life during these years and what it means to be loving, loyal, honest, and giving like the people of the Forkland community and that family and friends are the important things in our lives. I feel I have covered the most outstanding times in the store and am closing out this blog. If, in the future, something comes to mind that I have left out, I will come back and add to what I have already written. If you should happen upon this blog and are interested in reading about this experience, please go all the way back to the oldest post and begin at the beginning when I first bought the property and began my life as the owner of a country store. It will make a lot more sense to you if you start at the beginning. Also, please leave me a comment and thanks for stopping by. I am now in my senior years and have started another blog to cover my retirement and how I spend my days. You can go to it by clicking, “Living on the Other Side of the Hill” in my sidebar on the left.  Thanks to all the people of the Forkland area for making my years so memorable that I could write these “Tales of the Rolling Fork”.

12 Responses

  1. I am very sorry to see you “go” but I feel sure that every now and then you will remember something that will enhance this blog about the Fork. Even the little memories have great meaning in such a small community. I’ve enjoyed all your stories. Best of luck in everything!Teresa

  2. The Fork will always stand out as a time in my childhood that was about living freely and with a wild spirit. Thanks so much for recounting the many great memories that we had there and for taking two bright eyed little girls to such a magical place. A place that we could ride our bikes all day long with out a care in the world, run through the forest and swim down the creek with nothing on our minds but fun. I love you!

  3. I think Leigh said it best, thank you Mom!! love you!-Anne

  4. I’ve been keeping up with your blog since the twins told me about it–even though I haven’t commented, I drop by once or twice a week. I remember the first time we met at Christmas of 05′ and was introduced to some of “The Fork” stories. Specifically “the flood” and some of the special characters and events that traspired in that unique little town. I’ve really enjoyed reading more of these stories and will look forward to any additions you may add. Hope to see you soon!

  5. Hi Judy, It’s me again. I’ve been reading your story about “The Fork” and just finished this morning. Many of the things you wrote about took me back to my “early” days. I’m on the third book by Janice Holt Giles. I have one of my friends hooked on them also. I just wish someone would come up with a way to knit and read at the same time. LOL

  6. Dear Judy,Just happened on to this blog when I was reading comments on my blog. You know how when you click on the name of the commenter, and it takes you to the profile page and then you see the blogs listed. I will come back and read it all when I have the chance.wonderful stories that remind me of when my girls were young.Thanks,Blabbin’ Grammy

  7. I enjoy your post very much. Thanks

  8. I loved reading this blog, it reminded me of the time I moved from the home my children were reared. I also enjoyed the music.Good luck.YVONNE

  9. Hi Judy — This is an interesting idea for a blog. I like the way you have advice for new readers. I saw your name at Sylvia Over the Hill and wanted to stop on by the store to say howdy.

  10. This has been so wonderful to read….I hope to read some of your stories (blog entries)here to my dear Mom, over the phone, as I just know she will love to listen to what you wrote here. :)The pictures are great to go along with the subject(s) in your entries, too!

  11. looks like i’m in a little too late.. nevertheless, thank you for still leaving them here for further reading..sounds like an exciting journey..i know it’ll be wonderful, Judyhugs..

  12. All memories of the fork are wonderful and never to be forgotten. Thank you for reminding us.

Leave a Reply

